Holly Grove by the Numbers

550 Students

in Grades PK-12

56 Staff

on a 50-acre campus

425 Graduates

and COUNTING

 $20 Million

IN SCHOLARSHIPS earnED

Holly Grove is an independent, private, Christian, college preparatory, co-educational day school that was established in 1975 with 19 students, and has since grown to an enrollment of over 500 from Pre-Kindergarten to 12th grade. The campus is 10 miles north of the Maryland-Virginia border on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and draws its students from both states. 

IMG_8850.JPG
 

Our Mission

Holly Grove partners with families to provide excellence in Christ centered academics by preparing students to live God-honoring lives.

 

Our Vision

Under God’s direction, HGCS will focus on the student’s spiritual, academic, social and physical development. Our goal is for students to enjoy a relationship with Jesus Christ and become mature disciples of His Word. Since our main objective is to glorify God, we commit ourselves to lead by example in scholarship, vocation and lifestyle.

 
 

History

1976

The school is founded, opening with 19 students in grades 2-8 with 2 teachers. School was held in the one-room Adams School House on the grounds of Holly Grove Mennonite Church.

1981

New school building, with three classrooms, opens on the 15 acre lot behind the church.

1994

9th grade added. Kindergarten class is doubled, with one grade doubling each year following.

2001

New high school wing completed. Sports program offers 12 teams in 7 sports. Enrollment of 550, staff of 41.

2010

School receives accreditation from MASAC and ACSI.  Graduating class is offered over $1.5 million in college scholarships.

2017

HGCS reaches a new enrollment record of 565 students, and is reaccredited by ACSI and MSA-CSS.

IMG_8737.JPG
 

Faculty & Staff

 

Elementary

Valerie Overholt

Pre K  |  voverholt@hgcsweb.com 

 

Kristy Dize

Pre K  |  kdize@hgcsweb.com 

 

Jessica Pfirman

Pre K  |  jepfirman@hgcsweb.com

 

Lauren Brittingham

Kindergarten BLUE|  lbrittingham@hgcsweb.com 

 

Jean Mason

Kindergarten RED|  jmason@hgcsweb.com 

Kelly Smith

Kindergarten  |  ksmith@hgcsweb.com 

 

Beth Cunningham

First Grade Red  |  bcunningham@hgcsweb.com 

 

Carol Landon

First Grade Blue  |  clandon@hgcsweb.com 

 

Kim Gausmann

Second Grade Red  |  kgausmann@hgcsweb.com

 

Amanda Harrison

Second Grade Blue  |  aharrison@hgcsweb.com 

Kelly Aswell

Third Grade Red  |  kaswell@hgcsweb.com 

 

Meredith Davis

Third Grade Blue  |  mdavis@hgcsweb.com 

 

Debbie Sigrist

Fourth Grade Red  |  dsigrist@hgcsweb.com 

 

Mary Beth Webster

Fourth Grade Blue  |  mwebster@hgcsweb.com 

 

Cheryl Evans

Fifth Grade Red  |  cevans@hgcsweb.com 

Kris Justis

Fifth Grade Blue  |  kjustis@hgcsweb.com 

 

Denise Hopkins

Sixth Grade Red  |  dhopkins@hgcsweb.com 

 

Dana Barfield

Sixth Grade Blue  |  dbarfield@hgcsweb.com 

 

Tracey Yates

Art  |  tyates@hgcsweb.com

 

Lindsay Webster

Physical Education|  lwebster@hgcsweb.com

 

middle & high

Hannah Nock

Art  |  hnock@hgcsweb.com 

 

Joelle Gross

Bible|  jgross@hgcsweb.com 

 

Maria Hubbs

Bible  |  mhubbs@hgcsweb.com 

 

Cindy Johnson

Elementary Music  |  cjohnson@hgcsweb.com 

 

Linda Adkins

Elementary Resource  |  ladkins@hgcsweb.com 

Elisabeth Hays

English  |  ehays@hgcsweb.com

 

Susan Runk

English  |  srunk@hgcsweb.com 

 

Christy Scarborough

Guidance  |  cscarborough@hgcsweb.com 

 

Dawn Melson

History  |  dmelson@hgcsweb.com

 

Stephanie Howard

History  |  showard@hgcsweb.com 

Aves Ruffin-Justis

Keyboard|  aruffin-justis@hgcsweb.com 

 

Heather Webster

Math  |  hwebster@hgcsweb.com 

 

Carol Lewis

Math  |  clewis@hgcsweb.com 

 

Brittany Lewis

Music  |  blewis@hgcsweb.com 

 

Shelly Clark

Physical Education  |  sclark@hgcsweb.com 

Michelle Harrison

Science  |  mharrison@hgcsweb.com 

 

Kelly Nelson

Science  |  knelson@hgcsweb.com

 

Maureen Daisey

Spanish|  mdaisey@hgcsweb.com

 

Ray Landon

Upper Math  |  rlandon@hgcsweb.com 

 

Dionna Sterling

English  |  dsterling@hgcsweb.com

 

administrative & support

Michael Rohrer

Principal  |  mrohrer@hgcsweb.com

 

Charles Wulff

Assistant Principal  |  cwulff@hgcsweb.com

 

 

Robin Donnelly

Office Manager  |  rdonnelly@hgcsweb.com

 

Cheryl Tawes

Administrative Assistant  |  ctawes@hgcsweb.com

Martha Parks

Business Manager  |  mJparks@hgcsweb.com

 

Ronnie Landon

Transportation Director  |  rlandon1@hgcsweb.com

Joe Hubbs

Maintenance Director|  jhubbs@hgcsweb.com

 

Jon Adkins

Athletic Director|  jadkins@hgcsweb.com

 

Accreditation

HGCS is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools (Commission on on Elementary and Secondary Schools) and by the Association of Christian Schools International.

 
IMG_8743.JPG
 

Career Opportunities

Christian School Job Openings

Thank you for your interest in seeking employment at Holly Grove Christian School.  Please email Michael Rohrer if you are interested in applying. 

Holly Grove Christian School currently has no employment openings.

 

 

Governance

Board

The Board is comprised of appointed members, many of whom are current or former parents of HGCS students. The Board sets policy, monitors performance, and sets long-range goals for the school.

Principal

The Principal is hired to oversee day-to-day school operations, including supervision of all faculty and staff, as well as executing the strategic plan and goals of the school.  The Principal reports directly to the School Board.

 
 
vlcsnap-2017-10-13-15h01m15s240 copy.jpg
 

Directions / Contact

Address

7317 Mennonite Church Road
Westover, MD 21871
Get directions

 
 

Contact Us

Phone

(410) 957-0222

Email

info@hgcsweb.com

Our offices are open every school day between 8:00am and 3:30pm.

Name *
Name
Phone *
Phone
 

© 1975- HGCS · Web design by King Haus